Daunting At First

Shortly after I arrived to Managua after my orientation in Matagalpa, Nicaragua, the work as part of my internship began to really ramp up. In no time, my supervisor tasked me with large projects like analyzing the Seeds for Progress Foundation’s social media pages and doing research on characteristics of volunteer tourism trips. While the projects seemed daunting at first and they definitely took numerous google searches to lead me on the right track, I never felt as if the work was impossible. While definitely challenging, I had just the right amount of background on research, marketing, fundraising, and general clerical tasks to allow me to complete the assigned tasks. Whenever I did get stuck, my supervisor provided guidance and helpful advice to allow me to continue working. I think it’s fair to say that I have a clear grasp on what I am doing. While many of the projects I have been working on in this internship have been new to me, I never feel as if I am lost. If anything, many of the projects feel as if I am solving a puzzle, trying to fit different pieces of past knowledge together to produce a larger picture.

Besides the projects I previously mentioned I am also working on other assignments such as developing a comprehensive strategy to build our individual contribution program, creating social media content based on the results of my aforementioned study, researching and drafting grant applications, translating numerous publications, among other smaller tasks. My coworkers, Tamara and Alejandra, are always willing to help me out and offer constructive criticism to help me continue improving. One thing that did take me by surprise was the level of autonomy I was granted as an intern. In previous internships, though I am assigned significant tasks, it is clear that my position in the organization is simply as an intern. Supervision is frequent and at times, contributions can be taken with a grain a salt. At Seeds, I can confidently say that my work and suggestions is making a tangible change in the organization. For example, just last week I completed a volunteer guide on Photoshop that was sent out to a volunteer group that will be arriving in Nicaragua later this summer. Many of the suggestions and findings of my reports have also begun to change the way the marketing and fundraising department thinks of tools such as social media. It is because of my report on the performance of the Foundation’s social media page that we are creating new content in hopes of increasing our engagement with users. Above all, I am given a considerable amount of autonomy in the way I complete my tasks. Weekly meetings with my supervisors are a very horizontal process where I am provided points of improvement for my work, but where I am also given the opportunity to offer my own suggestions. Overall, I am really enjoying the work environment at the Seeds for Progress Foundation. Though the work load can be a little daunting from time to time, I really believe my work is making a difference and helping the Foundation achieve its goal of improving education in rural Nicaragua.

Luis Bravo                                                                                                                                                       Seeds for Progress Foundation, Nicaragua                                                       

Leave a comment